Dokolo Decides: Akena says ‘UPC has already won’  

(Last Updated On: 12 March 2024)

Dokolo | Four political parties’ flag holders were nominated on Monday as candidates for the Dokolo district woman MP seat.

Two other independent ticket holders were also duly nominated by the Returning Officer of the electoral district of Dokolo, Stephen Ngobi Erikwaine.

A total of six candidates are now known with the nomination exercises ending on Tuesday, March 12.

The first to be nominated at 10 am on Monday was NRM’s Adongo Janet Elau.

Elau was accompanied by the director of national mobilisation Rosemary Nansubuga Seninde.

While addressing the media, Seninde said: “I want to assure the public that the NRM will win this by-election compared to what happened last year in Oyam district.”

She urged Dokolo district NRM caucus to play their roles in favour of Elau to deal with any serious challenge from other political parties.

Seninde told Elau to start her campaign officially, adding that national party chairman Museveni Yoweri is expected to travel to Dokolo on March 19.

“I’m so delighted after all my papers were verified and everything went successfully. I’m not going to disappoint my party,” Elau said post-nomination.

The second aspirant to be nominated was FDC flag bearer Dr Rosemary Alwoc Ogwal.

“I have come to complete the work of my late mum. As Alwoc, I want to change the education system in Dokolo district, other things are improving the health system,” she said.

The FDC party president Patrick Amuriat Oboi told journalists that he was very excited about her candidate Dr Rosemary Alwoc Ogwal.

“She is not going to disappoint the party because since Dokolo started no other political party challenged my party FDC. I have confidence and I encourage voters to move in the largest numbers on election day.”

UPC flag bearer Aguti Sarah Nyangkori was also nominated on Monday. She was accompanied by party president and Lira City East MP, Jimmy Akena Obote.

Akena and his entourage arrived at Dokolo town council, bringing businesses to a temporary pause.

They were en route to have Aguti nominated.

Speaking to the press later, Akena said, “We have already won this by-election, we are just waiting for the celebrations.”

“I told you that UPC party is for everyone and I want to assure you that what happened in Oyam will again happen in Dokolo,” the ambitious son of Milton Obote said.

UPC president Jimmy Akena interacts with FDC president Patrick Oboi in Dokolo on Monday.

Also read: Oyam North is RED: how UPC dismantled NRM and MK Movement

Dr Esther Akullu Obot, an independent candidate using a ball as her symbol was nominated.

“I’m ready to take Dokolo forward,” she said.

Ageno Harriet is a NUP nominated candidate. Nominated at 2 pm, Ageno said through her investigation, NUP has more support than other political parties.

“I want to thank my party president Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu for allowing me to represent the women of Dokolo in Parliament.”

Dr Grace Anna Atine Lalam was also nominated on an independent ticket.

“As Dr Grace Anna Atine, I love NRM as my party but I saw the weakness of the NRM party flag bearer that is why I have come as an independent and I’m sure I will win this election.”

Chairperson of NRM Dokolo district Abang Beatrice Kia Molly, Irene Amongi and Rebecca Arao all stepped down for Elau.

“Out of 484 villages in the district, I have moved and witnessed the poverty that our community is facing. I want to address the challenge of roads that has affected most of the service delivery in the community,” said an independent Atine.

Dokolo people will vote on March 21 to elect their new woman MP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *