Dokolo WMP race: Aguti, Alwoc and Elau nominated

(Last Updated On: 11 March 2024)

Dokolo | Top political parties’ flag holders have been nominated as candidates by the Electoral Commission to contest for the vacant Dokolo district woman MP seat. 

The nomination started with NRM’s Adongo Rose Elau on Monday and was followed by Aguti Shara Nyangkori of UPC.

Initially scheduled to be nominated at 11 am, it was delayed until 1 pm.

Meanwhile, Dr Rosemary Alwoc of FDC has also been nominated. She’s in the race to replace her late mother, Cecilia Atim Ogwal.

The former woman MP, Ogwal, (RIP), died aged 77 on January 18 and was laid to rest on January 27.

NUP flag bearer Ageno Harriet and two independent ticket holders Dr Grace Anna Atine and Dr Akullu Ester Obot were also nominated.

As they headed to the nomination venue, business in Dokolo Town Council came to a standstill after UPC party president Jimmy Akena arrived with his team.

Akena’s team include Santa Alum Ogwang (MP Oyam district WMP), Maruzi North MP Nelson Okello Lemba, SG Fred Ebil Ebil and DK Odongo, Alebtong LC5 chairman.

Auma Kenny, Kwania district woman MP is also present.

Dr Alwoc’s FDC party president, Patrick Oboi is in the district to root for her.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *