Know who’ll be nominated for Oyam North MP seat on Tuesday

Last Updated on: 19th June 2023, 10:21 pm

Oyam, June 19, 2023: The Electoral Commission (EC) has Monday commenced with the nominations of candidates contesting for the vacant Oyam North MP seat ahead of a by-election scheduled for July 6.

The seat became vacant following the death of Col. Rtd. Charles Okello Engola Macodwogo on May 2, 2023.

In a recent statement, the EC spokesperson Paul Bukenya said the nominations exercise would be conducted at Oyam District Council Hall in Oyam Town Council, starting at 9 am and ending at 5 pm.

Aspiring candidates will be required to fulfill all the requirements for nominations for Member of Parliament. Each of them is required to return their nomination forms for verification during this two-day exercise.

As of Monday, June 19, six aspirants had booked a date and time for nominations.

These include Amolo Queen Dorothy (Independent), Apio Otuko Eunice (UPC), Engola Okello Samuel (NRM), Okello Daniel (NUP); Okello Freddy Newton (FDC); Omodo Willy Kagere (Independent) and Otto Ishaa Amiza (Independent).

Of the above, Apio Otuko, Engola Okello, Okello Newton and Okello Daniel were all nominated on Monday.


Omodo, Amolo and Otto will be nominated on Tuesday.

Also read: NUP ‘sure of victory’ in Oyam North MP by-election 

“Nominated candidates will conduct campaign meetings for thirteen (13) days, that is, from Thursday 22nd June to Tuesday 4th July 2023,” Bukenya said.

He stated that polling and counting of results for by-election of the Directly-elected Member of Parliament will be conducted on July 6 2023, at all the 167 polling stations in Oyam County North Constituency, Oyam District.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *