Comments as Museveni appoints five Members of Parliament from Lango  to PACOB

(Last Updated On: 17 January 2023)

President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has appointed five Members of Parliament from Lango sub-region as his advisors on the Parliamentary Advisory Committee on Budget (PACOB). 

The five MPs are Boniface Okot (youth representative in Parliament for Northern Uganda), Amolatar district woman Member of Parliament (Agnes Atim  Apea), Samuel  Okwir Odwee (MP Moroto County), Alebtong district and Dokolo North MP, Moses Ogwal Goli.

Others are Otuke County MP, Paul Omara and former MP Kyoga North, Anthony Okello Tango.

According to Museveni, the appointed members will provide developmental information, draw plans and implement them according to the NRM Manifesto to foster development among households in the sub-region and Uganda at large.

Just like fostering the NRM Manifesto, they will also be tasked with monitoring the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and the National Development Plan 2023/2026 as well as ensuring that it impacts people’s lives.

While speaking to TND News, the appointed MPs outlined their values in the committee and appreciated president Museveni for the trust and insight observations.

Moses Ogwal Goli, MP Dokolo North said the appointment to the committee is an eye opener to him and his colleagues to identify and utilize opportunities available to see growth and development.

Goli noted that development entails all the different people and entities coming together and connecting to invest funds accordingly in the different infrastructures.

In recent years, MP Ogwal says the government has been allocating funds in the different departments, yet with unconnected budgets.

According to the legislature, the economy needs to fully invest in infrastructural development, but plan for allocation of funds appropriately since good infrastructure is a catalyst for every sector’s development.

Paul Omara, MP of Otuke County said that his appointment will ensure that government funds are allocated and utilized accordingly to foster development and in the long run, fight corruption in the different sectors.


“Setting out priorities and investing funds is Paramount if the success of the implementation of the National Development Plan 2023/2026 is to be achieved,” Omara added.

Meanwhile, Samuel Okwir Odwee, MP Moroto county, Alebtong district said as appointed members to the PACOB, they will engage with other government sectors while mind mapping key potential fields and loop holes with a vision of bringing about development to Ugandans.

These appointed members will equally advise and ensure that funds allocated for the financial year 2023/2024 are allocated and utilized accordingly in the different sectors, more so enhancing livelihoods and eradicating poverty through implementation of the Emyooga and the Parish Development Model (PDM).

Like the fellow legislatures, Agnes  Atim Apea  who also doubles as the chairperson for well-being and productivity that overseas Education, Health, social issues among others, noted that the committee will help align different sectors towards the NRA Party Manifesto, the Sustainable Development Goals and the National Development Plan (NPD) while connecting them  with the budget.

Apea said that they hope to scrutinize all sectors to ensure Ugandans benefit from the allocated funds.

“For so long now, the budget is drawn but the citizens don’t feel it so, this has to be identified and ensure that the budget benefits the citizens and not the budget framers,” said Apea.

More to it, Apea said the President appointed the members of parliament from Lango region to the Presidential Advisory Committee on Budget based on experience, knowledge, vision and performance in their respective fields to help advise him draw plans and implement them to foster development.

According to Museveni, these five members of parliament were appointed based on knowledge capacity, expertise on development and their strong Zeal of influencing relations between government and its citizens regarding investment.

President Yoweri Museveni appointed the legislatures on January 10 2023 while at State House and present to witness this was, among others  the Government Chief Whip, Denis Hamson Obua (also MP of Ajuri County) in Alebtong district and the Prime Minister Robinah Nabbanja.

By Doreen Acipa & Nancy Atim

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *