Dokolo Decides 2024: what hopefuls say 

(Last Updated On: 13 February 2024)

Dokolo | The chairperson of the Electoral Commission (EC) Justice Simon Byabakama Mugenyi on Monday, February 12, launched the Dokolo district by-election road map.

The launch was witnessed by hundreds of stakeholders, voters and MP hopefuls.

The main election will take place on March 21 in which Dokolo will elect their new district woman Member of Parliament after the seat became vacant following the death of Cecilia Atim Ogwal on January 18.

The EC chairperson said the roadmap will begin with validating and displaying the voters’ registers for all the polling stations in the district.

Nomination of candidates will take place on March 11 – 12 at the office of the returning officer, Dokolo electoral district. Campaigns will run for only one week, starting from March 13 -19.

The EC will also conduct by-elections for councillors in Bata sub-county, town council and other areas.

Justice Byabakama said the Dokolo by-election is going to be ‘free and fair’, urging candidates to follow electoral guidance as the law requires to avoid inconvenience.

What hopefuls say

Abang Beatrice Molly Kia who will run on an independent ticket expresses worries about the time given to them to campaign, saying the district is too big.

Dr Grace Anna Atine, another hopeful said the by-election must form peace and unity for the people of Dokolo. “A leader is always chosen by God,” she said, adding that Dokolo district needs a leader who can lobby both government and other non-governmental organisations.

Dr Rosemary Alwoc, daughter of former MP Cecilia, will compete to replace her mother on the FDC ticket.

She told tndNews that she would continue supporting some of the school children that her late mother was supporting.

Dr Alwoc has pledged to also unite the people of Dokolo.

Other women in the race are Dr Ruth France Atala, Janet Rose Adongo, Rebecca Arao, and Sarah Aguti of UPC.cyber event

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *