Teso MPs donate shs30m for seed school construction

Last Updated on: 23rd November 2021, 10:08 am

By Robert Edwomu

Soroti23, November 2021: Members of Parliament across Teso sub-region have collected over shs30 million to support the construction of Agora Seed secondary school in Ojikai village, Agora ward in Soroti City West Division.

A total of 13 Members of Parliament and three Ministers across the sub region graced the function.

Joan Alobo Achom, Woman MP Soroti City contributed shs2.8m, Juliet Achayo, Ngora County gave shs2.8m as Stella Isodo of Ngora district, Abraham Isamat Kapir County, and Patrick Aeku Soroti County each donated shs1m.

Alobo said this is done in an attempt to improve access and better the struggling education services in the region.

She added that girl child education is very low in Teso because of the same challenges that make girl child education difficult.

Isodo has castigated the government for failure to implement its policy of having secondary school, health center and daily market in every sub-county.


Dr. Abraham Isamat is Kapir County MP who said education services need serious intervention from both stakeholders.

Isamat said the MPs are compelled to do the opposite because of the magnitude of the problem.

Kenneth Ongalo Obote, the Minister of Teso Affairs gave shs5m and pledged 150 iron sheets for roofing.

Jonathan Ebwalu applauded fellow MPs for the solidarity exhibited in trying to improve education services.

Recently, government processed a US$90m loan form World Bank for improving secondary schools access where 108 schools are meant to be constructed.

According to David Omali, chairperson Agora seed secondary school steering committee, the school needs eighty-three million one hundred forty thousand shillings (shs83,140,000) to set two classroom blocks, two offices and three pit latrines for learners: boys and girls, including staff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *